November 19, 2010

Mylapore Arts Academy - Music Festival 2010

With the major sabhas hosting concerts in December, the neighbourhood organisations push their schedule up in November. Some in the city say that these concerts put you in the mood for the 'season'. Some are of theopinion that it is best to catch up with artistes for their best performances in the early season before the madness starts!

Mylapore Arts Academy hosts its festival from Nov. 19 to 28, 2010
The venue is Sri Dakshinamurthy Auditorium, P.S.High School, Mylapore, Chennai-600 004
Everyday at 6.15 p.m.

The schedule of concerts:

Nov. 19, 2010 - Friday

Gayathri Venkataraghavan - Vocal, Padma Shankar - Violin, Thiruvarur Vaidyanathan - Mridangam, K.V.Gopalakrishnan - Ghatam

Nov. 20, 2010 - Saturday

O.S.Thiagarajan - Vocal, Mullaivasal Chandramouli - Violin, Balashankar - Mridangam

Nov. 21, 2010 - Sunday

Vani Satish - Vocal, Akkarai Swarnalatha - Violin, J.Vaidyanathan - Mridangam

Nov. 22, 2010 - Monday

Akkarai Sisters (Subbulakshmi & Swarnalatha) -Violin Duet

Nov. 23, 2010 - Tuesday

Neyveli Santhanagopalan - Vocal, M.ASundaresan - Violin, Guruvayur Dorai - Mridangam, B.S.Purushothaman - Kanjira

Nov. 24, 2010 - Wednesday

Pt.Janarthanan & Balasayee-Jugalbandhi (Sitar & Flute), K.V.Prasad - Mridangam, Chandrajit - Tabla

Nov. 25, 2010 - Thursday

A.Gayathri Dhevi - Vocal, B.Ananthakrishnan - Violin, Arjun Ganesh - Mridangam, Nanganallur Swaminathan - Ghatam

Nov. 26, 2010 - Friday

S. Saketharaman - Vocal, M.A.Krishnaswamy - Violin, Mannarkudi Easwaran - Mridangam, Vaikkam Gopalakrishnan - Ghatam

Nov. 27, 2010 - Saturday

Vasaundra Rajagopal - Vocal, Padma Shankar - Violin, Nellai Balaji - Mridangam, Chandrasekara Sharma - Ghatam

Nov. 28, 2010 - Sunday

Suguna Purushothaman & Suguna Varadachari - Vocal Duet, R.Hemalatha - Violin, Thanjavur Kumar - Mridangam, Pudukottai Ramachandran - Ghatam


No comments: