July 21, 2011

The Music Academy Awards 2011

Professor Trichy Sankaran, mridangam exponent will receive the prestigious Sangita Kalanidi Award for the year 2011.

The award Sangita Kala Acharya goes to vocalists Neela Ramgopal and Rama Ravi.
The TTK Awards will be presented to senior vidwans Mayavaram Somasundaram (kanjira) and T.R. Navaneetham (flute).
The Papa Venkataramaiah Award for violin will be given to Trivandrum Subramanya Sarma

The awardees will be conferred with the tiltes on January 1, 2012 at the annual Sadas of the Academy.

Trichy Sankaran will preside over the 85th annual conference of the Academy to be held from December 15, 2011 to January 1, 2012.

An award for dance has also been instituted this year. The newly instituted Natya Kala Acharya Award for dance will be given to Bharatanatyam exponent Padma Subrahmanyam at the inauguration of the dance festival on January 3, 2012.