August 28, 2014

Narada Gana Sabha Music Competitions

Narada Gana Sabha's annual music competitions will be held on Sep 21, 27 and 28, 2014.
Held in variuos categories, the competitons are open to students of music in the age group 12 to 25 years.

Application forms are available at the Sabha and can be collected before Sep 10. Narada Gana Sabha is at 314, TTK Road, Alwarpet, Chennai 600 018. Phone: 044-24990850, 24993201.

August 26, 2014

Indira Sivasailam Endowment Award for vocalist T M. Krishna

The season of music in Madras begins with Vinayaka Chaturthi and Navaratri. The Ganesha temples in the city have already begun the Chaturthi series of concerts. With Navaratri in row and the organisations who do not own a hall or auditorium begin their season in September / October well ahead of the major sabhas.

The season begins with the announcements of awards and titles. Since 2010, Indira Sivasailam Endowment Award is presented by the endowment established by Mallika Srinivasan, Chairman, TAFE Limited, in memory of her mother.

This year vocalist T.M. Krishna has been selected for the award to be presented during Navaratri.
A disciple of B. Seetharama Sarma and trained under Semmangudi Srinivasa Iyer, Krishna is a young and popular singer. He is the in the news during the season for his unconventional concert pattern and off-beat thoughts and ideas.

The recipients of the Indira Sivasailam Endowment Award in the past years are Sudha Ragunathan, Sanjay Subrahmanyan, Aruna Sairam and Bombay Jayashri Ramnath.

August 10, 2014

Sangita Kalanidhi award for T.V. Gopalakrishnan

The multifaceted Carnatic musician T.V. Gopalakrishnan is selected for the prestigious title 'Sangita Kalanidhi'  conferred every year by the Music Academy. He will preside over the 88th Annual Conference of the Music Academy to be held from Dec. 15, 2014 to Jan. 1, 2015.

A mridangam vidwan, Gopalakrishnan is also proficient in Carnatic vocal and Hindustani vocal music. He will be Conferred the 'Sangita Kalanidhi' title at the Sadas on Jan. 1, 2015.

The other awards presented by the Music Academy have also been announced.

Sangita Kala Acharya award will be presented to vocalists Mangad K. Natesan from Trissur and Alamelu Mani from Mumbai

Senior vocalist Malladi Suribabu and Nama sankirtanam exponent Udaiyalur Kalyanaraman will receive the TTK awards.

Dr. Padma Murthy is selected for the Musicologist award. The Pappa Venkataramiah Award for violin will be presented to Lalgudi Rajalakshmi.

All these awards will be conferred at the Sadas on Jan. 1, 2015

Leela Samson, senior Bharatanatyam dancer will be conferred the Natya Kala Acharya Award and this award will be Conferred at the Inaugural function of the Dance Festival on Jan. 3, 2015.