October 29, 2013

Tha Music Academy, Madras. Awards for 2013

Vocalist Smt. Sudha Ragunathan is chosen for the title of 'Sangita Kalanidhi' from the prestigious Music Academy, Madras, this year. She will preside over the 87th Annual Conference of the Music Academy to be held from Dec. 15, 2013 to Jan.1, 2014.She will be conferred the 'Sangita Kalanidhi' title at the Sadas on Jan. 1, 2014.

The awards were announced in July this year.

Sudha Ragunathan (Left) and Chitra Visweswaran

The other awards from the Madras music Academy are:

Sangita Kala Acharya Awards:
Shri D.Pasupathy (Vocalist)
Smt. Kalyani Sharma (Vocalist)

T.T.K. Awards:
Dr.Prapancham Sitaraman (Flautist)
Thanjavur Ramamoorthy (Mridangist)

Musicologist Award:
Dr. R.S.Jayalakshmi

The Pappa Venkataramiah Award for violin is being given to Shri H.K. Narasimhamurthy.

The above awards will also be conferred at the Sadas on Jan. 1, 2014.

Natya Kala Acharya Award:
The Natya Kala Acharya Award for Dance, instituted two years ago, would go to eminent Bharatanatyam exponent Chitra Visweswaran. This award will be given away at the inaugural function of the Dance Festival on Jan. 3, 2014.

No comments:

AdSense Matched Content Code