July 28, 2016

Sangita Kalanidhi award for violinist A.Kanyakumari

At its meeting held on 24th July 2016, the Executive Committee of the Music Academy has unanimously chosen the outstanding and versatile violinist, Kum. A.Kanyakumari, for its coveted 'Sangita Kalanidhi' Award and for presiding over the 90th Annual Conference of the Music Academy to be held from 15 th December 2016 to 1 st January 2017. Kum. Kanyakumari is a top ranking Carnatic violinist whose experience spans over 50 years as an accompanist, soloist and a teacher. She is the first female violinist ever in the history of The Music Academy to have been chosen for the prestigious “Sangita Kalanidhi” Award, which will be conferred on her at the Sadas on 1 st January 2017. The Committee also chose the following persons for the other awards to be conferred at the 90th Annual Conference and Concerts.

1. Sangita Kala Acharya : 2 Awards
Rudrapatnam Brothers Shri R.N.Thyagarajan and Shri R.N. Tharanathan (Vocal duo) and Prof. K.Venkataramanan (Vocalist and music teacher)

2. T.T.K. Awards: 2
Dr. Nirmala Sundararajan (Vocalist)
Shri M.Kodilingam (Thevaram singer and Teacher)

3. Musicologist Award: Dr. Rama Kausalya
The Pappa Venkataramiah Award for violin will be given to Shri Sikkil Baskaran.
The above awards will also be conferred at the Sadas on 1st January 2017.

4. DANCE FESTIVAL: Natya Kala Acharya Award:
The Natya Kala Acharya Award for Dance, would go to the eminent Bharatanatyam Dancer and choreographer, Kum. Malavika Sarukkai. This award will be conferred at the Inaugural function of the Dance Festival on 3 rd January 2017.

No comments:

AdSense Matched Content Code