October 30, 2009

The Music Academy awards for 2009

The Madras December Season actually starts as early as July/August with the The Music Academy announcing the prestigious award – Sangita Kalanidhi.

The Academy also honours reputed gurus, composers and musicologists every year.

Here is the list of awardees for 2009. These artistes will be awarded and felicitated on the day of ’sadas’ (the experts committee meet) on Jan. 2, 2010

The awardees are :

Sangita Kalanidhi – Valayapatti Sri A. R. Subramaniam (Tavil Maestro)
Sangita Kala Acharya – Trivandrum Shri R. Venkataraman (Veena Vidvan)
Sangita Kala Acharya – Smt. N. S. Jayalakshmi (Dance Guru)
T T K Award – Trichy Shri R. Thayumanavan (Konnakkol exponent) and
Sri Akella Mallikarjuna Sharma (Violinist and Musicologist)
Musicologist Award – Sri B. M. Sundaram

Official announcement here

No comments:

AdSense Matched Content Code